Can anyone help me remove an engine?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2017, 10:08 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Unhappy Can anyone help me remove an engine?

For the last few months my restoration project has been put on hold because I can't remove the engine....

It's a '63 MK2. It's my first project so I'm not that confident in just lifting it (I'm afraid that I might break other parts)

Is there anyone who knows someone who can come to my place (Brisbane northside) and help me get it out? I can buy/rent the hoist, just need some guidance.

Cheers
Vince

Old 01-27-2017, 01:38 AM
Received 6,317 Likes on 4,367 Posts

Hi Vince, have you considered using a mobile mechanic. There are a few getting around at reasonable rates.

The following users liked this post:
paulyling (01-29-2017)
Old 02-01-2017, 07:30 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,410 Likes on 876 Posts

Hi Vince. Clarke's idea is a good one, but I wonder why you are nervous about tackling it yourself. Everyone who has ever pulled an XK out of a Mk1, Mk2, or original S Type . . . always started with their first one. I know . . . it looks cramped and it is, when compared to an XJ. Moreover, I trust your signature ref to having a 3.8L V6 is a typo . . . if not, you really will have trouble!!! Perhaps your V6 exhausts exit via your wheel wells . . . but I rather think not.