New member intro - Adelaide, Australia. Looking for XJ6/XJ8

Old 03-03-2015, 11:16 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New member intro - Adelaide, Australia. Looking for XJ6/XJ8

This was originally posted in the general new member section of Jaguar Forums but I thought it would be a good idea to post here too as I am based in Adelaide:

Hi members,

I am fairly new to Jaguars and I'm very keen to purchase an XJ6 (X300-AJ6) or XJ8 (X308-AJV8) in the near future. I've been on holiday for a few months which has allowed me to do some research and learning but I still have a lot to learn.

I have been an avid Morris Mini fan and have a 68 Morris Mini Deluxe that has failed to get out of the garage in the past 15 years. Life has just got in the way. My every day driver has been a 1995 Mitsubishi Magna 3.0V6 so i would like to get a Jaguar that is at least 1995 or newer. Although, I am aware that Jaguars are far more advanced vehicles to my basic Mitsubishi so a 1990 XJ6 will probably still feel like a newer vehicle to me.

The reality is that I don't drive very often - only on weekends but I mostly drive long distances including interstate drives every few months. Being a musician means that music is very important to me and long drives mean lots of music so I intend to upgrade the stereo in the Jag i purchase. I listen to a large variety of music including jazz, Indi, folk and classical music so I will probably hover about the audio section of this forum when i finally purchase a vehicle.

I'm not the most mechanically competent person around but I have performed minor mechanical repairs on all my previous cars. I'm looking forward to learning how to keep my Jaguar in good running order and maintaining a good level of reliability.

I am very happy to have found such an extensive and well-used forum. Any suggestions and recommendations will be very welcome.

Regards
Matt

Old 03-04-2015, 01:12 AM
Received 10,286 Likes on 6,807 Posts

Matt,

Welcome to teh forum.