X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 Jaguar X-type Strut Question. Please help.

Old 11-23-2014, 10:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Jaguar X-type Strut Question. Please help.

hi I have a bad strut on my front left tire that I am needing to replace. I was curious if anyone might know exactly which part/brand I need to order. Along with that im also curious if I should order a new mount for the strut as well in case it has any wear on it. I have not attempted taking anything apart yet due to the fact im not a mechanic, just need to know what the best strut to order would be and if I need a new mount as well. please any help would be apprectiated. Tyler

Old 11-23-2014, 10:50 AM
Default re

I believe this could be the correct strut. OESpectrum Twin-Tube Shocks and Struts by Monroe - JCWhitney any thoughts?

Old 11-23-2014, 11:01 AM
Received 282 Likes on 159 Posts

Hello Tyler,
Check rock auto, amazon, or your favorite auto parts store on line.
you can search for the correct part for your car.
Check to see if Monroe or anyone else has the complete assembly with spring and mount complete. If available, it will save time and eliminate the hazard of removing the springs from the struts.
Oh, did I say struts?
Replace both. The springs and resistance should be the same for proper performance.
You will want a front end alignment afterwards.
also google strut replacement. lots of good instruction out there. Look at VW jetta if x-type does not pop up. Keep your fingers clear when reassembling.
Good luck.

Bill

Old 11-24-2014, 04:31 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts