General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Volume knob for 1997 default Jag stereo - RESOLVED

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 11:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volume knob for 1997 default Jag stereo - RESOLVED

Hi folks,

It's my first time to post here and I'm an idiot, so bear with me!

I have a '97 Vanden Plas and the guys at the detailing place managed to not only knock the knob off the radio, but lose it as well. I ordered a replacement knob (pictured), but for the life of me I can't figure out how it attaches to the plastic bracket (also pictured). Am I missing something? Is the bracket itself damaged and I don't realize it, or is there another piece I don't have? I stubbornly refuse to pay someone to fix something that seems so simple, yet it doesn't just seem to snap on like I thought it was going to!

Many thanks in advance, and photos below:

Last edited by GGG; 07-10-2014 at 02:32 AM. Reason: add RESOLVED to thread title
Old 07-07-2014, 02:11 AM
GGG
Received 16,766 Likes on 12,154 Posts

Welcome to the forum Mold-a-RamaGuy,

It looks to me like the peg the knob fits onto is broken off.

Volume knob for 1997 default Jag stereo - RESOLVED-radio.jpg

There should be a peg (arrowed in red) and the hole in the back of the knob (arrrowed in blue) pushes onto it.

Please follow this link New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the New Member Area - Intro a MUST forum and post some info about yourself and your vehicle for all members to see. In return you'll get a proper welcome and some useful advice about posting to the forum.

Graham

Old 07-08-2014, 12:58 AM

Interesting--I appreciate for the quick reply (and handy image!), Graham. Is the peg something that's replaceable, or have I crossed into "get a new radio" territory? A cursory search for a "radio knob peg" isn't yielding me much online, but that doesn't mean much.

Old 07-08-2014, 02:57 AM