Jaguar Engines & transmissions Discuss performance / modifications / upgrades etc here..

New guy with a Range Rover. Performance questions inside (not your typical whatnot).

Old 12-06-2014, 08:27 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New guy with a Range Rover. Performance questions inside (not your typical whatnot).

I recently picked up a Supercharged Range Rover. It uses the 4.2L supercharged Jaguar engine, I imagine very similar/identical to what you guys have

I'd like to dig into the software behind it. I have a lot of experience with Bosch systems, but next to none with the Denso engine management employed here. I have done enough searching to know that one of the common gripes enthusiasts have is the lack of comprehensive tuning options, so I'm not expecting state secrets here, but rather I'm interested in whether power output was increased/decreased when using a similar powertrain across the model line. A de-tuned version if you will. That'd get me moving in the right direction, seeing how the manufacturer handles such things.

I've managed to come up with the necessary calibrator files/definitions for this, and I have the ability to read/write the factory ecu. Problem is, I have no point of reference here. I've as of yet been unable to come up with any sort of documentation on the framework or strategy that's being utilized.

I'm not sure what the etiquette is here, or if this sort of discussion is frowned upon. If it is, I apologize in advance. I will happily share anything I come up with if there are any like minded individuals amongst you.

Thanks in advance, DD.

Old 12-06-2014, 08:31 PM

Forgot one thing:

Datalogging. Is there a preferred diagnostic software/datalogger that's used here?

Old 12-06-2014, 09:35 PM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts