S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

01 S-type Acceleration Stumble

Old 09-05-2012, 12:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 01 S-type Acceleration Stumble

Hello everyone, I am new to this Forum, and dont usually use forums; so forgive me if this has been discussed before. I am a back yard mechanic and am repairing this for my friend who recently bought this Jag with 150K mi. We had replaced the Fuel pump about 8 months ago when it had a no start condition. After that car ran great and then threw DTC's P0430, and P1388 with acceleration stumble following shortly after. Replaced the O2 sensors already and cleared the codes. The car continued to stumble after going 30 mph and requires feathering the pedal to build up speed. I takes sometime up to two minutes to get to 60mph.

I placed a vacumm guage on it with a steady 22 in hg vac after the TB on the intake. I also placed a fuel guage on the fuel rail with a 33psi at idle and when running at higher RPMS fuel guage decreases 8-10 psi. I then took out the Fuel filter and blew threw it with ease releasing clean fuel in big gobs then freely passing air without restriction. I know this fuel filter was replaced two years ago. I then hooked up my fuel guage before the filter and attahced it to complete the fuel loop and run engine. Fuel pressure is still at 33 psi at idle and decreases with higher RPMS. Driver side CAT was replaced aswell since it no longer had a honey comb in it no more. Need to fix this soon before the new CAT goes bad. Check TB without air duct.TB Plate is responsive with pedal, and cleaned the MAF sensor. Fixed Elbow leak on the driver side intake (near firewall). What else to do? No DTCs present.:icon_confus ed:

Old 09-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Veteran Member
Received 431 Likes on 389 Posts

Please provide the year and model "S" (3.0, 4.0, or 4.2) Fuel pressure should be 50+ psi. Check for vaccume leaks and leaky injectors.