Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headlamp Ignitor

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2017, 09:16 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Talking Headlamp Ignitor

Car is a 2003 S-Style-R:
I replaced headlights (bulbs only), and they worked great for a few days until the passenger side kept going out, but then comes back on at any time on it's own.
Took to dealer, no issue with headlamp, they figured maybe electrical wiring? They didn't know even after having it all day and night. I jiggled wires, disconnected/reconnected with no results. Bulb is firm in socket.

I noticed that when the lights come on the passenger light starts up real slow and eventually brightens up to match the other. I'm no mechanic, but I am thinking the issue may be with the ignitor?

Anybody? Thank you in Advance!

Old 01-11-2017, 10:35 AM
Veteran Member
Received 219 Likes on 202 Posts

I'm currently suffering the same exact issue. I replaced a burned out driver's side LH bulb and decided to replace both at the time. Shortly after getting it working and all back together again the RH passenger aside went intermittent.

No good deed of thoughtful prevention goes unpunished ...

IN the spring it gets addressed once again. Honestly, I have no idea what the problem is but it's too cold here now to address. But I am thoroughly sick of these GD headlights. With any luck and it will take a bunch I'll find out what is causing this.

BTW, one of my threads has link for an inexpensive supplier for the original exciter.

Old 01-11-2017, 02:08 PM
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Cheapest but not easiest way to determine is switch the igniters, but that is likely the issue. I had a similar problem and replacing the igniter fixed it.

Old 01-12-2017, 09:02 PM
Smile Ignitors