S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

This Jag gave me a scare.Was it my fault?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2017, 09:54 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question This Jag gave me a scare.Was it my fault?

Hello,this is my second post and I'm still learning how to navigate thru this site.I purchased a 2003 Stype 3.0 L in 2008 for my wife ,We're the second owners with a little less than 50,000 miles on.I seldom drive this car,neither does she.It's a beautifull Mediterraneum Blue , like new 'cat'In my other life I've been ticketed while driving an Alfa Romeo Duetto,Fiat Spyder,Porche 911.About two years ago while entering a oil change pit owned by my nephew the car suddenly accelerated I hit the brakes hard(a better move would have been to kill the engine or shift to N)However an attendant observed the front wheels locked and dragging,while the real wheels were smoking and spinning .I finally killed the engine but not before damaging the tall exit door.The car suffered no damage.It was scary.At first I thought the same thing you just did "did I press the gas pedal being so close to the brake?" Did I press both pedals with the same winter booth?A mechanic was summoned with a hi tech scan tool but no codes were stored.I did some Google search and I found two instances symilar to mine.Has anybody here ever heard/experienced this sudden acceleration?Any replies would be appreciated.Thanks.

Old 02-10-2017, 11:08 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,638 Likes on 1,066 Posts

Originally Posted by parigi
Any replies would be appreciated.Thanks.
Are you sure?
"If memory serves, this used to happen alot to old people with Volvo's...circa late 80's maybe?"

<insert icon of guy hiding behind sofa here..that I can't find>

Seriously, sorry this happened but glad everyone is ok. I've never heard such reports logged against the 3.0L S, nor it's close cousin in the Lincoln stable.

The following users liked this post: