New Battery in Fob...Have to Reset Anything?????? - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum


S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by Jagbits
Click Here

New Battery in Fob...Have to Reset Anything??????

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MidWest/DownSouth
Posts: 117
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default New Battery in Fob...Have to Reset Anything??????

Just put a new battery in the key fob as the remote obviously stopped working...new battery is in but the remote still isn't working. Anyone know if there is something that has to be done to reset the fob when a new battery is installed??? (any other suggestions appreciated as well!)

TIA...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2010, 09:35 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 1,080
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Im curious about the same
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2010, 09:51 PM
Gus's Avatar
Gus Gus is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, Va./ OC Md.
Posts: 10,221
Thanked 1,565 Times in 1,304 Posts
Default

I cleaned and replaced remotes and batteries for my 99xk8 & 95xj6 and no reprogram. I am unable to speak for the s-type but I would assume it is the same. This is how I did it http://www.gusglikas.com/AutoRepairxk8Remote.htm Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2010, 09:52 PM
motorcarman's Avatar
Photobucket
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Decatur,TX
Posts: 4,950
Thanked 2,212 Times in 1,520 Posts
Default

Here are 2 TSBs I have for this fault. The one is for the X-Type but it may be relevent to the X202 also.

bob gauff
Attached Files
File Type: pdf S501-18am2.pdf (71.2 KB, 208 views)
File Type: pdf XT501-10am.pdf (62.4 KB, 132 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2010, 11:21 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,178
Thanked 84 Times in 61 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=390HPTypeR;259970]Just put a new battery in the key fob as the remote obviously stopped working...new battery is in but the remote still isn't working. Anyone know if there is something that has to be done to reset the fob when a new battery is installed??? (any other suggestions appreciated as well!)

TIA...[/QUOTE

...hey this maybe very useful info for other S type owners encountering this same problem later on, please do give us an update and solution to what happened.
Thanks and good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2010, 09:15 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 18,125
Thanked 2,422 Times in 2,187 Posts
Default

A fairly common cause is that the battery is either not making proper contact or is shorting out. There was a revision to add some foam to the inside of the fob. It's been covered before and is likely also in the FAQs / TSBs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2010, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MidWest/DownSouth
Posts: 117
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagv8 View Post
A fairly common cause is that the battery is either not making proper contact or is shorting out. There was a revision to add some foam to the inside of the fob. It's been covered before and is likely also in the FAQs / TSBs.
I hope this is the case and can be corrected with a little bit of tinkering...the remote worked fine before so I thought the battery would obviously be the cause but a simple replacement is still not working...

I'll keep on looking into it and then let everyone know what comes of it...thanks to everyone for the replies...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:35 PM
DittoGlen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I replaced batteries in 2 and had no problems.
Ensure the + and - are correctly aligned of course...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 198
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Do you have a working fob?

If so do this:

take fob out to your car, insert key into ignition cycle from off to accessory on position 8, I repeat eight times rapidly (you have to go pretty darn fast). press the lock button on the fob that doesn't currently work, and then press unlock on the one that does.

If that doesn't work then you know it is an issue with the actual fob not putting out a signal.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:22 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 1,080
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Even easier drive to autozone. They have a display for testing key fobs if it's transmitting the display will let you know it could be as simple as DittoGlen said battery could be installed backwards
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-24-2010, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 198
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mafioso View Post
Even easier drive to autozone. They have a display for testing key fobs if it's transmitting the display will let you know it could be as simple as DittoGlen said battery could be installed backwards
considering the nearest autozone is 5 miles down a super busy road, I fail to see how this is easier than sitting in my driveway turn the key a few times.

Further, if your key fob did lose its programming during the battery change the method I just outlined reprograms it. I doubt the autozone kiosk will do that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-25-2010, 10:11 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 1,080
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Just a suggestion since not everyone has RF receiver capable of scanning FOB frequencies at home. IDK to me it seems like a reasonable to Suggestion to without a doubt rule out a FOB transmitting or not, I mean even if the battery is placed in correct who is to say a trace didn't get broken and it's no longer transmitting.

I speak from experience with prestige remotes
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MidWest/DownSouth
Posts: 117
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Went to Autozone, the fob is putting out a very small amount of frequency from the tester they had...so not sure what it is due to...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:58 PM
Gus's Avatar
Gus Gus is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, Va./ OC Md.
Posts: 10,221
Thanked 1,565 Times in 1,304 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 390HPTypeR View Post
Went to Autozone, the fob is putting out a very small amount of frequency from the tester they had...so not sure what it is due to...
Are you sure you did not throw away the new and reinstall the old battery? If that is not the case get a new battery (RadioShack) and test the battery then.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:12 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 1,080
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

AH HA!!! making progress.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-26-2010, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MidWest/DownSouth
Posts: 117
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gus View Post
Are you sure you did not throw away the new and reinstall the old battery? If that is not the case get a new battery (RadioShack) and test the battery then.
Unfortunately, yes...the new Panasonic is in from RadioShack...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:10 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 1,080
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

reopen the FOB and clean the battery contacts and inspect for broken traces,
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:39 PM
Gus's Avatar
Gus Gus is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, Va./ OC Md.
Posts: 10,221
Thanked 1,565 Times in 1,304 Posts
Default

Did you try to clean the buttons as outlined on my page http://www.gusglikas.com/AutoRepairxk8Remote.htm
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
99 XK8 convertible - electrical issues 99xk8guy XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 14 07-03-2016 10:18 AM
Won't start after new battery is installed. Dagny XK / XKR ( X150 ) 15 04-09-2016 11:25 PM
Possible won't crank info for our x308 s Will P XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 15 09-30-2015 09:38 AM
2004 XJ8 air Suspension too low Guy-Pierre Boucher XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 7 09-16-2015 06:55 PM
Need new battery - what to do DEklof XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2 09-08-2015 06:28 PM


Tags
2000, 30, autozone, battery, fob, jag, jaguar, key, lincoln, mark, remote, reset, stype, tester, viii, work


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


JAGUAR and its logo are the registered trademarks of Jaguar Cars Limited. Jaguar Cars Limited is not affiliated with JaguarForums.com.