General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Car wont start? READ THIS FIRST

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2009, 02:04 AM
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Exclamation Car wont start? READ THIS FIRST

Well, I noticed that there seems to be a lot of "my car won't start" threads running around here, and generally they get to wearing on the people who have to repeatedly answer them or they just go unnoticed and sink to the bottom of the forum never to be addressed again. I'm new here and thought I would add a contribution from old school personal experience on the topic. Also this is very basic stuff, I'm not getting into the nitty gritty, there are other people on this forum for that. But they would be much happier answering your questions if you have gotten through this first imagine. It shows that are willing to put some work in your behalf and not just leeching. (/rant)

Disclamer: I am NOT a certified mechanic! I am hobbyist with a pretty good amount of experience. I know my way around a car. I also run an auto auction and know how to get the quick and dirty answers as to why something isn't starting in a few minutes, and without a lot of tools.

I take no responsibility for you blowing up your car or yourself or burning off your eyebrows. That said if you are not an idiot this should be pretty straightforward.

So without further adieu..

Step 0
Rule out the obvious, is there GAS in your car?!?

Is your mass airflow sensor hooked up? it's the only electronic device between the air filter and the throttle body, so just look for wires going into your intake tube. This device meters the air for the ecu so it gives the proper amount of fuel per unit of air.

Look for (or listen for) leaks in your intake tubing after the mass airflow sensor. (usually this will not keep the car from starting but it is possible)