US Northeast ME, NH, VT, MA, RI, CT, NJ, NY, PA

NJ - Comprehensive Component Not Ready

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2014, 07:27 AM
Received 34 Likes on 24 Posts
Default NJ - Comprehensive Component Not Ready

Hello.

I posted this in the XKR Forum, but thought it might be more appropriate here. 2003 XKR.

Can anyone tell me what "Comprehensive Component" is for NJ State Inspection? The local guy in town said this will never "reset" on it's own and that my computer has been tampered with?

So I am failing for Comprehensive Component "Not Ready" and Overall Readiness Result "FAIL"

The person I purchased from in FL said an O2 sensor was replaced recently.

I called Cherry Hill Jag, they said drive with fuel between 25% and 75% but I see on my NJ Inspection that Evap was ready?

I am new to Jag, frankly all this twisting and turning over one setting and failing inspection is giving me 2nd thoughts.

Any input from NJ Jaguar XKR/XK8 that have seen this, is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Attached Thumbnails NJ - Comprehensive Component Not Ready-inspection.jpg  

Last edited by R3Wood; 08-29-2014 at 07:32 AM. Reason: typo addition
Old 08-29-2014, 07:42 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,981 Likes on 2,123 Posts

It will take patience, but I believe if you continue driving it will flip to ready on its own. Comprehensive is normally the last test to complete.

This thread discusses how to apply for a tailpipe test in NJ as an alternative if necessary: Failed NJ inspection 3x now, Comprehensive Component Not Ready - North American Motoring

The following users liked this post:
R3Wood (08-29-2014)
Old 08-30-2014, 07:59 AM
Unhappy

Thanks. The local garage here told me it will never go to ready on it's own.

Any idea why it's "NOT READY?"

I think the battery may have been disconnected or died recently (maybe in late July) and O2 sensor bank 2, which was replaced, code cleared. No other codes present.

I also read Mini's have this issue.