X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

02 X-Type Radio Removal and Question...

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2009, 10:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 X-Type Radio Removal and Question...

Does anyone have any instructions on radio removal with wiring diagrams - if available? I am a MECP Installer and trying to save some time on this car. I always try to have instructions on vehicles like this prior to just going in there and guessing.

Also, has anyone had any issues getting a double din Nav to fit in there? I have seen a few double din kits in the past, but can't find any now. So if someone knows where I can get one, please let me know.

Sorry if this has been posted already. I searched for awhile but couldnt find anything.

Thanks...

Old 02-25-2009, 11:00 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Welcome

I can't say I've seen any wiring diagrams for the radio since I've been on the site. Go to metra's website (for the dash kit) and type in the info. From what I can remember the part number 99-9500 cost was around $30. The kit comes with instructions for radio removal. Only snag you'll run into is the kit metra sells is for 03-newer dashes (which are generally silver-ish color instead of black.) If you need further help pm me and I'll see what I can find. Hardest part seemed to be getting everything lined up properly after taking the necessary pieces off. If you'd like I can link you to pics of what it looks like in a 2002?

Last edited by aquill1; 02-25-2009 at 11:08 PM.
Old 02-26-2009, 07:06 AM

Thanks for the reply. I was surprised to see that they sell wiring adaptors for the vehicle on ebay...didn't expect that. I assumed that I'd have to hardwire into the factory radio harness.