Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Here

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2015, 11:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Newbie Here

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, looking for a bit of advise on getting my first Jag X-Type, I've been looking for a couple months now and think I have worked out the models available the spec of each. I'm looking to get a Sport or Sport Premium, and want to get the NAV screen/climate control, and half leather seats, full leather if I can find it. I have around £5000 to spend.

I've asked a few people about the X-Type and they are being rather negative towards it, its a expensive Ford Moneo, they have suffer with flywheels, injectors, spark plug changes are pain. But I'm not going to let all that put me off, what I want to know is, as owners of the X-Type, what are the good and bad points, and what do I need to look out for when buying one?

Oh another thing, I'm one who loves their music, and to me a cars standard stereo system is never good enough. I'm looking to fit all my audio into my new car, DLS R6A 6.5" components, DLS Classic 6x9's (do the Jags use 6x9? will be taken from my current Lexus IS200), Kenwood 12" Sub powered of a Genesis Series 3 5 channel amp. But I've heard something about fibre optic cables in the X-Type, is this is a problem for me?

I look forward to your replies.

Dean

Old 10-08-2015, 12:17 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Dean, first off, welcome to the Forums. Lots of good information here and lots of people willing to share it.

As for your questions. Maintenance on this car is not any worse than it is on a Ford Mondeo. So, if they are saying it is bad on this car, then they are saying it is bad on a very popular car. Just some food for thought. The X-TYpe uses a motor that is very similar to the Mondeo (there are a few slight differences). So, I would not let that worry you.