X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transfer Case Fluid Change -- HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2010, 07:57 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Transfer Case Fluid Change -- HELP!!!

Hi All,

Newbie here. I have spent the last hour or so going through all the info on changing the fluid in the transfer case. My 2004 X Type 3.0 with auto tranny has about 63K on it so this is a job I definately want to tackle.

I don't have powerpoint, however, so can't access the procedure from the FAQ section. In addition, from my reading it seems some of you are rocking the car by alternating ramps/jacking etc while others do not.

Here are some questions before I get myself into too much trouble by diving into this job:

If I do follow the rocking procedure, is the hole side elavated to fill the TC? Seems to me that would get more fluid into the unit.

Is the home made filler left in place rather than the OEM plug?

How is the extra fluid "pumped" into the TC to go above the fill hole?

What type of flush fluid is used? If used, how do you ensure all flush is removed if TC cannot be fully drained? Won't excess flush fluid dilute proper TC fluid?

I guess that's it for now ...

Thanks in advance!

Rob

Old 12-29-2010, 08:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sorry cant answer just reading everything as I am a newbie also.

Good luck

Old 12-29-2010, 09:20 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

A lot of these questions are answered if you actually read all the prior threads, but here goes:

If I do follow the rocking procedure, is the hole side elavated to fill the TC? Seems to me that would get more fluid into the unit.

No, that's the crux of why the TC is a pain the in the *** to fill, and why people have to resort to creative solutions.

Is the home made filler left in place rather than the OEM plug?

Yes

How is the extra fluid "pumped" into the TC to go above the fill hole?

With a pump. Or gravity filled from above the engine using a long tube