X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Yet another (but different) wheel sound.

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2016, 03:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yet another (but different) wheel sound.

Hello everyone,

I bought a 2005 X-Type 3.0 AWD a couple months ago, and recently noticed a squeaking noise coming from what I believe is the front driver side (US) wheel.
Now comes the weird part:
- It can get pretty loud outside with reverb, but windows closed I cannot hear anything.
- It DOESN'T seem to be speed sensitive, it's a recurrent "squeakyyyy-squeak";
- It happens every 3-5 seconds, even when slightly turning the wheel;
- I checked the inner side of the brake rotor and it's smooth as a baby's ****;
- It's not doing it when revving in neutral;
- When I bought the car I got it inspected and they said the bearings where fine;

Now I'm a student -and a foreign one on top of that- so I'm kind of on a budget and don't have a lot of tools available to work on it. That being said, I'd like to identify the issue before taking it to a shop to avoid spending hundreds just to find out what it is.

Any ideas about what it might be ?

Thank you!

Old 11-04-2016, 07:05 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Partre, first off, welcome to JF. I think you will find this place very useful and also very friendly. Please stop by the New Member section and say hi and give the intro over there. That is the place that you will need those that make this place what it is.