XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Battery replacement for key fob

Old 10-12-2011, 03:44 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Battery replacement for key fob

I am new to Jaguar..purchased a 2009 XF SC about 6 weeks ago so what i am about to say may be old hat to the seasoned vets but for us new guys, they need to hear this.

Yesterday, my car computer told me that my battery is running low on my key fob..can you imagine that...I have never seen that in any other car...anyhow, I went to my dealer and picked up a new battery ($8) and inserted in the key fob...message on my car computer went away.

It's the little things described above that will keep me , not only impressed but I may become a life long Jaguar buyer.

Old 10-12-2011, 06:03 PM
Received 969 Likes on 642 Posts

Originally Posted by Watchgeek
I am new to Jaguar..purchased a 2009 XF SC about 6 weeks ago so what i am about to say may be old hat to the seasoned vets but for us new guys, they need to hear this.

Yesterday, my car computer told me that my battery is running low on my key fob..can you imagine that...I have never seen that in any other car...anyhow, I went to my dealer and picked up a new battery ($8) and inserted in the key fob...message on my car computer went away.

It's the little things described above that will keep me , not only impressed but I may become a life long Jaguar buyer.
Your Smart Key can start your car two ways, Actively or Passively. Passive starting is when the key is in your pocket and you start the car. Passive relys on the battery inside the key, as does the remote button functions. Active starting is available for the instance your key battery has failed or run down. It will still start the car, but you have to put the Smart Key in the start control unit in the rear of the console cubby in order for the car to recognize the key. They had the forethought to make the car tell you if the battery gets low.

Welcome to life long Jaguar ownership!!

Cheers,