XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Differences Between XJR & XJ8

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 08:34 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Differences Between XJR & XJ8

I am new to the Jaguar scene and have been lucky enough to purchase a 2000 XJR. I've tried to find the differences between the XJR and XJ8's, but so far it appears the witty Brits just slapped a blower on the "R" and called it a day.

Don't get me wrong, this is one of the best cars I've owned. I'm just trying to figure out it's history.

Old 03-07-2011, 10:14 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Suspension, brakes, wheel size/tires, standard wood steering wheel and shift knob. Black carpets on all interior colors schemes. Black upper interior trim. No variable valve timing. Mesh grill, blacked out trunk trim piece. A few other minor odds and ends.

Old 03-07-2011, 11:54 PM
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by pezzonovante88
Suspension, brakes, wheel size/tires, standard wood steering wheel and shift knob. Black carpets on all interior colors schemes. Black upper interior trim. No variable valve timing. Mesh grill, blacked out trunk trim piece. A few other minor odds and ends.
Don't forget the sport suspension, Merc tranny which is much better than the ZF, and generally all options for the XJ8 as standard such as the heated seats, backup sensors, premium audio, etc.

The XJR was next to the Vanden Plas as the top of the line, just on the sport side.

Old 03-08-2011, 12:29 AM
Received 89 Likes on 73 Posts

You've been a member for almost two years, have 87 posts, yet the only difference you've gleaned to this point is 'slapped on a blower'? What have you been reading? No offense intended, but I just don't see how that's possible.

The following 2 users liked this post by QuadManiac:
longpassage (10-31-2014), vdpnyc (03-08-2011)
Old 03-08-2011, 01:54 AM
Veteran Member
Received 77 Likes on 70 Posts
Question

Originally Posted by pezzonovante88
No variable valve timing.