XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Programming a TCM for an x308

Old 03-21-2011, 11:05 PM
Received 49 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Programming a TCM for an x308

What do I need to program my TCM ...would auto enginuity do it? Or is this out of a do it yourselfer's league?

Old 03-22-2011, 02:55 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,064 Likes on 867 Posts

I am sure Auto enginuity will not. I don't THINK you need to program it as long as it came from the same model and year series.

Old 04-11-2012, 10:25 AM
Received 75 Likes on 23 Posts

hmm, althought I am a newbie in Jaguar universe, I understood it differently. I am under the impression the TCM adaptation needs to be reset (and relearned) if the TCM module come from another car or any work has been done on the transmission cluch packs. This is to adapt the shift diagrams to your particular gear box tolerances.

Also it is my understanding that AE with jaguar expansion is able to do that (on most model according information on their website).

Old 04-11-2012, 11:38 AM
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by bballarin
hmm, althought I am a newbie in Jaguar universe, I understood it differently. I am under the impression the TCM adaptation needs to be reset (and relearned) if the TCM module come from another car or any work has been done on the transmission cluch packs. This is to adapt the shift diagrams to your particular gear box tolerances.

Also it is my understanding that AE with jaguar expansion is able to do that (on most model according information on their website).