XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

1995 4.0 Sovereign stalls in Drive

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2016, 01:41 AM
Received 75 Likes on 57 Posts
Default 1995 4.0 Sovereign stalls in Drive

Hi everyone. I just got myself a X300. My first jag, and I am not really a mechanic so it's a bit scary. In D, N and R the engine runs normally around 700-900 rpm but when rolling slowly in Drive )walking speed) it falls down to 300-400 rpm and dies.(Unless I keep my foot on the gas to slightly adjust) Having read a lot of similar posts here I decided to get a new battery. It removed the warning lamp for the transmission, but that was the only difference. Next up I checked the transmission oil level, and added half a litre as it was a bit low. It did not help any.
I then changed the engine oil with Castrol 05-40W and the airfilter (the old was extremely dirty) and I fitted new NGK iridium plugs. The coils were "made in japan" and the plugs were the original champion RC9CC ( they were black and sooty) I also tried cleaning the MAF but there is still no improvement. I was kind of hoping these things would solve the problem, but now I have to look elsewhere. Maybe I will try clening the MAF again with a O2 spray this evening, or order a new fuel filter, as it's probably an old one sitting there.

So, do you have any other ideas I could try? Is it possible to simply adjust the idle and set it a little bit higher? I also notice a bit of a rough idle in the 2000-3000 range. Hard to describe it but its like a rumble, or a misfire. Or is it just supposed to sound that way?

Any thoughts and ideas would be appreciated. Greetings from Norway

Old 09-13-2016, 02:56 AM
Received 10,312 Likes on 6,822 Posts

Some suggestions from down here, and not knowing where you call home.

1) Some markets have an EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation ) system, they carbon up, and I have read of this reeking havoc with the idle integrity. We did not get it thankfully.