XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

engine swap 95-97 questions.

Old 04-27-2012, 03:53 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default engine swap 95-97 questions.

hello im new to jaguars and am looking for some advice. recently i purchased a 1995 jaguar xjr from a co worker for a great price. i got a great price because the engine is blown, the rest of the car is in great shape however. i found a 53,000 mile engine out of a 1997 xjr that i have purchased to replace the blown engine. i realize now that there are some differences. the 97 is obd2 and the 95 is obd1 correct? basically i am wondering what all i have to swap over from the 95 engine to the 97 to make it compatible with the car. if anybody has done a swap like this before or knows the answers to my questions i would really appreciate the help. im not a professional mechanic but work on cars quite often im my home garage. thanks in advance.
Dayn.

Old 04-27-2012, 05:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,746 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Your '95 is OBDII as well.

I don't know of any fundamental dfferences.

I think the '97 engine will have an EGR valve that your '95 doesn't have....that's just a matter of swapping exhaust manifolds, though....no problem there.

Others will chime in.

Cheers
DD

Old 04-27-2012, 06:06 PM

oh wow ok that will help me a ton knowing it is also an obd2. the technition at the auto parts yard thought that the 95 would be obd1.. im prety sure that the part you are talking about is the part that confused me because i know its not on the 95 engine in the car. so i should just have to remove the rear exhaust manifold on the 97 engine and replace with the manifold from the 95 correct? and the hose that runs from that to where the supercharger is mounted gets removed as well? thank you as i said im new to jags..
Dayn

Old 04-27-2012, 08:14 PM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by jagdayn