XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Nervous about my 97 XJ6

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2013, 05:51 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Nervous about my 97 XJ6

Some of you may remember my questions about my car "rocking" after receiving a fuel/air induction service, but I'm going to do a quick recap, and then also ask about a couple of things. Hopefully someone will be able to quell my nerves.

I've had my "cat" for just over 3 years. She's been a great car! Of course, when I got her the antenna wasn't working, the rear view mirror was messed up (but safe to use) the telescoping steering wheel adjustment was broken. Not bad.

I did buy this car with noticable damage on the front corners, but I had it inspected - at 2 different places - and no issues were found. After driving it for 2 years, it developed a "popping" on turns. Ask for the mechanic to check it out, but he didn't see anything.

Had a tiny oil leak. (I'm not a mechanic so I don't do my own work.) The guy told me it had a bit of a leak, but for the mileage/age it wasn't unexpected and keep and eye on the levels. Well, the levels weren't the issue! The oil leaked into my ignition coils and ruined them.

So, 6 new coils, plugs, new wiring for good measure, she was doing pretty good, still popping but getting around.

Changed the shocks, new tires. Still popping.

Went to get my emission in the spring and it read "not ready". Drove the .... well, I pushed her and she finally threw a code. They said it needed a fuel/air induction service. Passed emissions but afterward was rocking like a boat on the restless sea.

That mellowed out over the course of the next 3 months, then one day - boom, check engine light and transmission light came on. She wouldn't run unless I had RPMS at about 3500 and holding her back with the brake.