XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

XJ8 Trans Wire Harness help

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2010, 02:31 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default XJ8 Trans Wire Harness help

I'm in the middle of changing the internal wire harness on my 99 XJ8. I've been doing searches on this issue for a couple of months and decided to change the trans fluid and filter and internal wire harness all at the same time. So to this point I've dropped the pan and filter and before I go any further I'd like to see if anyone can help with a couple of questions.

1. To get to the area where the internal harness connects to the external harness do I need to remove the valve body on the transmission?
2. If so, how should I do it so I don't have springs and ball bearings flying all over?
3. There is a connector on the harness that plugs into a small black probe thing and then slides into the transmission and is held in by a clip. This is located at the furthermost rearward point of the transmission. What is that black probe and should it be replaced also?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks

Old 10-05-2010, 03:46 PM

A picture of the connector for question 3. It's the connector at the very top of the pic.

Attached Thumbnails XJ8 Trans Wire Harness help-img_1241.jpg  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:22 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts

Sorry, I haven't been there yet so am no help. I would like to know what led you to make this repair.

Old 10-05-2010, 06:11 PM

No worries, I'm hoping one of the tech's see's the post and offers a response.