XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

Help! 1990 Xj6 sovereign 4.0L

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 12:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! 1990 Xj6 sovereign 4.0L

Skip to the bottom to avoid the story.

Alrighty well this is my first time posting Kinda a story. So i bought this car on a whim really I was able to get it for cheap and knew when i got it, that it wasn't running. The guy had mentioned a fuel pump (the car had been sitting in the sun with half a tank of gas) so when i looked at the car He managed to get it started after a few failed attempts. The car started up and it has a beautiful idle and RPM if increased slowly goes up really nice.

If you go to put your foot down however the car bogs down. In my head everything seemed "Like Oh its just not getting enough gas" Well I skipped some of the diagnostic phase(not the best idea) and put a new fuel pump In.

car still wont start, the old battery was garbage any-who so it has a new battery, and fuel pump. I moved up the fuel line cheacked the fuel pressure, and then i pulled out the injectors everything seems fine they all put out gas the same ( I was going to get a new injector to test to see if maybe it was a pressure issue But they are to expensive) so i moved on. Maybe this isn't a fuel issue i'm not sure.

So I moved onto the electrical. I pulled out the spark plugs. they were all black and gunky as if it was running far to rich. so pulled the spark plugs out and checked them one at a time at the end of each of there wires. and I ran a compression test. None of the spark pluggs had any of that little white lite at the end as If there was No spark at all, yet i did get shocked at one point. the compression test showed up as follows.

cyln 1-6 182--190--185--185--186--187
seems healthy ish? right?

Here is what im looking for

(diagnostic help) If someone were to be so kind

The proper engine compression(specs) for this make and model