XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C series III

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 03:59 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default A/C series III

Is anyone out there an expert in air conditioning systems for series III XJs? I'm considering tackling this project on my 86 sovereign, but I have zero experience with A/C systems. The Haynes manual has surprisingly little info on the A/C system. What kind of freon does it take (r-12, R-134a)? What's the most common component to go bad (compressor?).

If anyone has troubleshooted this system with success, any input or tips would be much appreciated.

Old 03-24-2008, 04:41 PM
Received 70 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: A/C series III

Greetings,

That's a bit of a daunting task for a layman, depending on what the failure was.

See if the compressor is locked up, this can happen when it continues to operate with low refrigerant/ oil level. The '86 has a HSLP switch designed to disengage the clutch when pressure is low, it doesn't always prevent failure. Earlier cars have a superheat switch and a thermal limiter fuse mounted on the compressor, which burns out to prevent clutch engagement.

If the compressor locked up, you will also need to replace the receiver/ drier, atop the radiator. You'll have to remove the screen inside the expansion valve on the firewall, and flush the system. It's good practice, although not alwaysimperative, to replace any O ring for a hose unoin you disconnect.

If the compressor in not locked up, it may be leaking from the hose unoin O rings at the rear of the unit, or from the compressor rear head seal. In the latter case, buy a rebuilt: they are cheap and plentiful. Always include a new receiver/ drier per warranty reccomendations of the rebuilder.