XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Vanden Plas Owner and Dye Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2015, 08:08 AM
Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts
Default New Vanden Plas Owner and Dye Question

Hello to all. I just recently acquired a 1986 Vanden Plas with 43K. Having purchased sight unseen, it was an enormous risk, however worked out fantastic.

I'm new to this car, but not to Jags. Previously, I had a 1999 XJ8 and 2004 XJ8. I also grew up in the car business and we dealt with quite a few Jags, both in sales and service. The first jag we had on the lot was a 1987 Vanden Plas in Bordeaux Red and even though that was over 20 years ago, I still daydream about that car! The first I ever sat in was a 1979 XJ6, and even though I was only about 15 years old, I set forth into convincing my father they were great and more importantly to him (we could make money selling them).

We did just that and sold quite a few. With all the bad press, I do have to say we really didn't have much trouble with them. Sure they required additional service than many other cars, but we were selling Alfas, Fiats, MGs, Saabs, Audis, and VWs, so high service vehicles were the norm. Frankly, we had less trouble with the Jags than all but our Japanese makes.

Anyway, I'm excited to be back in the game...and where I belong with a Series III, not that later "rubbish" :-).

To my other point, I think I would like to freshen my front seats with some dye. I use Leatherique almost exclusively on leather treatment, but Leather World Tech for my dyes. Amazingly durable and have a nice matte finish.

For those of you who have redyed, do any of you have a color code or name for our Vanden Plas leather?

THanks Again!!!
Doug

Old 08-29-2015, 08:20 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Good choice. Series IIIs are great cars.

Originally Posted by thedugger1