XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

the '86 XJ 6 Just Arrived

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2013, 11:03 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default the '86 XJ 6 Just Arrived

after a five mile trip on "the Hook". It has not run in a couple years, but seems in pretty solid shape, showing 91K miles.
All I have is questions, as I am new to Jaguar.
Is there a drain for the fuel tanks, or a decent way to get any old fuel out?
Is there a way to remove the bottom where the battery sits, so it can be cleaned and repainted?
Is there any difficulty or advanced technique required to drain, flush, and refill the cooling system? It is full (it's not in the crankcase) and the oil is clean.
Are there any peculiarities to flushing the brake fluid with a power bleeder?

Thanks everyone.

Old 05-01-2013, 12:40 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,747 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Originally Posted by Wascator
after a five mile trip on "the Hook". It has not run in a couple years, but seems in pretty solid shape, showing 91K miles.
All I have is questions, as I am new to Jaguar.
Is there a drain for the fuel tanks, or a decent way to get any old fuel out?

Drains, yes.

At the bottom of the left and right quarter panels/valance panels there is a plastic plug which covers the actual tank drains.

In a bit of Jaguar weirdness the plastic plugs can only be removed with the panels removed. Or....broken away.

Or disconnect the fuel inlet hose from the fuel rail and simply use the fuel pump to pump out the tanks. This isn't as good as draining them, though. The last gallon or so remains at the bottom, unpumpable...plus if the gas is rusty you'll be running it thru the pump. Bad idea.

Is there a way to remove the bottom where the battery sits, so it can be cleaned and repainted?

I'm a bit foggy on this but I think the battery tray *does* unbolt. Can't remember the details.