XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Coolant on the engine filler cap and A/C compressor

Old 08-20-2014, 02:23 AM
Received 1,209 Likes on 918 Posts
Default Coolant on the engine filler cap and A/C compressor

Heh guys

For the last few days I have noticed coolant sitting on top of my Engine filler cap, dripped down the stem and also around the A/C compressor close to the fan belt. I wiped her down but the coolant is back again today, just not as much as when I first noticed.

My coolant levels appear fine (if leaking it would be minimal) and the engine has been running great, with temp sitting around or under the N on the gauge.

Im very new to this game so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Attached Thumbnails Coolant on the engine filler cap and A/C compressor-20140820_165150.jpg   Coolant on the engine filler cap and A/C compressor-20140820_165205.jpg  
Old 08-20-2014, 02:44 AM
Veteran Member
Received 413 Likes on 311 Posts

Try a new cap - the rubber seal is probably just buggered and steam is escaping then condensing on the exterior bits.

The following users liked this post:
paulyling (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 03:49 AM

thanks Flint. That sounds feasible. I hope its only a minor thing like that. If I had to replace the cap, is it critical to get exact match? original? or is just so long as it seals properly?

Again new territory for me...

In the meantime, I might settle down for some light reading...

Attached Thumbnails Coolant on the engine filler cap and A/C compressor-20140819_215920.jpg  
Old 08-20-2014, 06:04 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,935 Likes on 1,956 Posts

Paulyling,

You must buy the right cap. Do not ever do anything that might cause the v12 engine to overheat! Otherwise you have a bill of 000's coming your way!

It's easier just to buy the genuine jaguar cap. There are even debates over the 15psi or 16psi is the right one.

Good luck

Paul

paulyling (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 06:55 AM