XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Marelli or Megasquirt?

Old 12-30-2014, 06:17 PM
Received 20 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Marelli or Megasquirt?

Hey guys, I'm planning my 2015 budget for the car and I'm reading up on the Marelli issues. I really don't want my car to burn up so my first reaction is to eliminate the problem. Should I invest in the megasquirt ecu? Who has tried it and about how much does it cost all together? I'm a newbie here so bear with me if I ask a question that's common knowledge. I really love this car and want to keep it for a long time, and of course make her growl!!!

Old 12-30-2014, 06:26 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,106 Likes on 763 Posts

I've not used Megasquirt myself, although I am seriously considering it for a Sunbeam Tiger project. A few people I know have built systems, one for an MGB and another for a Chevy drag car.

It is very powerful, very flexible and because of that has a pretty steep learning curve. You basically start from zero and design the ECU from the ground up.

If you already know a lot about fuel injection systems and how to make fuel maps OR if you have time and are willing to invest in learning, then it's great.

If you want something that is a bolt on system that will get you running quickly, then Megasquirt probably isn't what you are looking for.

Would be interested to know what you decide to do and how the project goes.

The following users liked this post:
mtpckts (01-01-2015)
Old 12-30-2014, 06:35 PM

That's the problem... I don't know jack but I'm quick to learn!

Old 12-30-2014, 06:37 PM

Are there other plug 'n' play, ready systems available?

Old 12-30-2014, 07:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,742 Likes on 7,097 Posts