XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Audio Upgrade Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2012, 12:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audio Upgrade Question

What has been done to upgrade the sound systems? I wish to maintain the factory deck but upgrade the speakers, add an amp and a sub. All this without destroying the originality of the interior. I am also opposed to sitting a massive sub in the trunk; I like the space back there. Any thoughts?

I have an 1994 XJS 2+2

Old 10-16-2012, 04:38 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,576 Likes on 1,712 Posts

The rear speaker position in the XJS is not ideal. YOu can upgrade the rear speakers with 6x9's. I would install them solidly under the window with MDF and speaker box stuffing behind them. Then modify the trim to look stock. A set of 5 or 6" in the front doors mounted solidly to the door with the grill mounted to the door trim to look standard.

I personally like Alpine speakers I have been using them for 30 years and have them in my XJS.

Old 10-16-2012, 11:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 535 Likes on 337 Posts

I don't like having the stereo on because I need to be able to listen for stuff going wrong :-)

I replaced the factory head unit (my car has lots of non-stock stuff on it anyway, so originality was not important to me, but I understand folks who want to keep it looking stock... I'm like that with my other Jag)

I replaced all of the speakers with infinity reference series. On my convertible I still have the cubby box behind the front seats, not the +2 seating. This box seems to be quite good for audio purposes...... I'm sure you could add a sub in there somehow. Not sure what to do if you have seats though :-(

Old 10-17-2012, 10:34 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts