XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Double trouble

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2016, 05:01 PM
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Double trouble

Hey All, longtime Jag nut down in south florida, have been hanging out on the X250 forum for the last year as I bought a wrecked 2014 XF 3.0 SC and rebuilt it. Was called every name in the book but hey, it all worked out.

Sooo, when I was in my teens, my dad had a Green 86 XJS for a few years and then a Black 89 with Wire wheels. I was in an auto mechanics program at high school and while everyone else was bringing in Corollas and Camaros, I was the pain that showed up with a V12 jag that always needed work.

I graduated college and my first major purchase after getting a "real" job was an 02 X-type sport with manual. Kept it for 2 years then came across a deal on a CPO S-Type R in Georgia, so I did what any same person would do, found out who was heading north and hitched a ride to the dealership, bought the car and was headed back south in less than 90 minutes. That kitty died in a wreck and I spent a few years driving Pontiac G8 GT's and played with a Grand National for about 2 years. I met a girl, we bought a house, I bought a truck and we got married.

FFWD a year, wife is pregnant and we're in the middle of house reno, I finally get the XF registered and start putting miles on it and all of a sudden I get this dumb urge to buy an Old XJS and "tinker"