XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Fuel gauge going crazy-please help

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 04:33 PM
Veteran Member
Received 552 Likes on 377 Posts
Default Fuel gauge going crazy-please help

Hey there guys

My car was sitting for 3 months and when I have started driving it again, the fuel gauge is going up and down like crazy all the way to empty and then back to full. My anti slosh module is relatively new (2 years), but it's getting very hot. Should I get another module and see if it works? Or did the sender in the fuel tank go bad from the car sitting? Any other possibilities?

If anyone has any experience with this failure mode, or knows how to fix the anti slosh module, please let me know. Keep in mind I mentioned the anti slosh module is getting very hot

Thanks

Old 07-18-2015, 04:58 PM
Received 54 Likes on 30 Posts

I'm no expert, but it doesn't sound like a sender issue at all to me. you can check that by holding the orange/green Sending unit wire to a ground while running the car. I really doubt that's it though. I'd check the anti slosh module, make sure each post on it is getting the right voltage and go from there. I'm sure others will weigh in with better info as well.

The following users liked this post:
Spikepaga (08-29-2015)
Old 07-18-2015, 05:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 430 Likes on 374 Posts

Check the condition of all the wiring joints and earth contacts.

Last edited by malc4d; 07-19-2015 at 02:22 AM.
Spikepaga (08-29-2015)
Old 07-18-2015, 05:27 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,935 Likes on 1,956 Posts

Don't change anything unless you know it's the cause of the problem.

First of all, determine if it's the A/S module. Pull off the module. Use a short piece of wire to bridge the sender input voltage terminal and output gauge voltage terminals of the module holder. If the gauge now reads correctly the fault is your module.