XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Gas smell

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2011, 11:02 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Gas smell

I'm new and posted in the new member. My first issue is a gas smell in the car and trunk and am wondering where to start. I've been told a lot of different things by a lot of different places. One friend suggested googling jaguar forums and wa-la.

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch but am somewhat handy. Thanks for any and all help, and I hope I can help others as well.

The following users liked this post:
Kjt64 (03-14-2016)
Old 10-18-2011, 11:27 PM
Veteran Member
Received 69 Likes on 64 Posts

heres a good link that warrjon posted for me about the places that jags rust. skim through it and youll find a bit about gas smell in the trunk. apparently many jags suffer from this.

Jaguar XJ-S and XJS (all variants 1975 to 1996)

Old 10-19-2011, 12:06 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Tank rust is common as it wear-through from a rivet that the tank rests on.

Lots of hoses back there and even a slight weep from any of them can make a big smell in the small confines of the trunk. One tip I was told is to wrap all joints in colored tissue paper...which will darken with even a tiny ooze of gasoline.

A couple of the fuel pipes back there use o-rings so have new ones on hand when you start digging in!

Cheers
DD

Last edited by Doug; 10-19-2011 at 07:57 AM. Reason: sp
Old 10-19-2011, 02:29 AM
Received 10,309 Likes on 6,819 Posts
Talking

Originally Posted by jefe
I'm new and posted in the new member. My first issue is a gas smell in the car and trunk and am wondering where to start. I've been told a lot of different things by a lot of different places. One friend suggested googling jaguar forums and wa-la.

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch but am somewhat handy. Thanks for any and all help, and I hope I can help others as well.
0K, you are new, you said that, so WELCOME to teh real world of motoring.