XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

non starter

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2016, 01:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default non starter

I've just picked up a XJ-S convertible v12 when I went to view it the car was running and had been for a while as the temperature was normal. Now I've got the car home it is almost impossible to start from cold. Sometimes it will catch and tick over but if you touch the throttle it dies. If I eventually get it to catch and let it warm up it is almost running as normal. I'm new to this engine any ideas where to start
thanks

Old 10-04-2016, 02:46 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,053 Likes on 2,031 Posts

My first thought is the coolant temp sender. That's the biggest influence of fuelling on a V12. It's on the left side thermostat housing, near the front of the engine. Make sure the plug is seated and making good contact, sometimes the contacts can get pushed back into the connector housing and not make contact with the sender.

The senders are reverse resistance, they should be about 3000 ohms at 20C, dropping to about 200 ohms at 90C. If you unplug the wire it tells the computer the engine is full cold, see if that makes starting from cold any easier.

Old 10-04-2016, 06:45 PM
Veteran Member
Received 580 Likes on 361 Posts

Unplugging the CTS delivers infinite resistance and the ecu will enrich. Jumping the CTS contacts in its loom connector will tell the ECU that the engine is hot and the ECU will not enrich the mixture. This may also resolve the issue. What year XJS? Do you have cold start injectors?

Last edited by JigJag; 10-04-2016 at 06:57 PM. Reason: Replace bad URL with pic
Old 10-05-2016, 12:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,576 Likes on 1,712 Posts

Originally Posted by turnermr