Go Back   Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Current ) > XK / XKR
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

XK / XKR 2006 - Onwards

Welcome to Jaguar Forums!
Welcome to JaguarForums.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Jaguar Forums community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2008, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 804
Thanked 93 Times in 62 Posts
Default Reset ECU

Just in case I need to reset the computer, is there step by step instruction on how to do so? I know my other car you need to unplug the cables from the battery for awhile to reset and my MB I need to put the key in position 2, leave the gas pedal down for 5 seconds, turn the key back to position 0,release the gas pedaland leave the key in for 2 minutes.
__________________
2008 XKR (V8 SC): Upper and lower SC pulleys, ECU Tune, Catback Exhaust, Air Induction kit, Hiflo Cats, Lowering Springs, RS bodykit, Blackout Trim, Aftermarket Wheels, HID Foglights.
2006 SL65 AMG:Stock for now
2012 RR Evoque
2012 MB GL450
2010 MB E350 4Matic
My XKR and SL65 AMG in friend's vid:
http://youtu.be/0cyA55UTcRI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:12 PM
Photobucket
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: 33498
Posts: 2,961
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

Yeah to do a hard reset, you would disconnect battery negative for at least 5 minutes. Remember to programme windows when you are done.
This will not however clear out codes stored in the ECM.
__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2008, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 804
Thanked 93 Times in 62 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

Thanks JaguarFactoryTech....you've been very helpful.[sm=smiley20.gif]
__________________
2008 XKR (V8 SC): Upper and lower SC pulleys, ECU Tune, Catback Exhaust, Air Induction kit, Hiflo Cats, Lowering Springs, RS bodykit, Blackout Trim, Aftermarket Wheels, HID Foglights.
2006 SL65 AMG:Stock for now
2012 RR Evoque
2012 MB GL450
2010 MB E350 4Matic
My XKR and SL65 AMG in friend's vid:
http://youtu.be/0cyA55UTcRI
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:48 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

hi, I also have an 08 XKR. Will resetting the ECU clear the check engine light?Once in a whileI get the check fuel filler cap sign on and then it goes away followed by the check engine light. When I take it to the dealer they turn it back off but it's a pain to go wait at the dealer. Can this be handled by just unplugging and replugging the battery?

thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2008, 01:28 PM
whiteSTR's Avatar
Veteran Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

Nope, unplugging the battery does not clear codes/check engine lights....
__________________
White S-Type R (HRE 543s, Ported S/C, K&N, Custom Exhaust, EBC Red-Stuff, MB Quart Qs, Kicker L7s, Plans: ECU ReTune, 2.5 Pulley, De-Cat)
MTM Audi TT Quattro @ 27psi (adiós)
1973 Duster (Stage 3+ T76 Turbo, Street Legal)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2008, 01:44 PM
Brutal's Avatar
Photobucket
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sugar Land /Houston, Texas
Posts: 5,755
Thanked 1,039 Times in 743 Posts
BILL BRUTON
Default RE: Reset ECU

CORRECT WHT, AND TO DO A HARD REBOOT YOU HAVE TO DISCHARGE THE CAPACITORS IN THE ECU(ALL ECUS) AND TO CORRECTLY DISCHARGE A CAPACITOR WHICH IS NOTHING MORE THAN A BATTERY YOU HAVE TO GIVE IT A PATH TO GROUND. TO DO THAT DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL FROM THE BATTERY AND MOMENTARILY TOUCH IT TO THE STILL CONNECTED POSITIVE, THIS GIVES ALL THE CAPACITORS A PATH TO GROUND AND WITH ERASES ALL VOLATILE MEMORY.(CK ENGINE LIGHT CODES ARE STORED IN NONVOLATILE SO THEY NO LONGER ERASE THIS WAY)SOMEBODY(JIM?) STICKY THIS SO IT DOESNT HAVE TO BE RETYPED ALL THE TIME(2ND TIME TODAY) AND YES LIKE FACTOTECH SAID, RESET, WINDOWS, CLOCK, SUNROOF, RADIO(MAKE SURE YOU HAVE CODE FIRST IF YOU HAVE AN ANTITHEFT UNIT) AND YOUR DONE. TO RESET CODES AND NOT GO TO THE DEALER, GO TO NEIGHBORHOOD AUTOPARTS STORE, MOST HAVE GENERIC SCANNERS THAT CAN TAKE CARE OF ALOT OF CODES THAT COMEUP, JUST WRITE EM DONE SO IF THEY RETURN YOU KNOW THE CAR IS CONTINUING TO SEE THE SAME PROBLEM
__________________
Working for those that do not every day
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brutal For This Useful Post:
jag79 (01-29-2012)
  #7  
Old 11-17-2008, 02:24 PM
whiteSTR's Avatar
Veteran Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

Well put brutal.. [sm=closed.gif]
__________________
White S-Type R (HRE 543s, Ported S/C, K&N, Custom Exhaust, EBC Red-Stuff, MB Quart Qs, Kicker L7s, Plans: ECU ReTune, 2.5 Pulley, De-Cat)
MTM Audi TT Quattro @ 27psi (adiós)
1973 Duster (Stage 3+ T76 Turbo, Street Legal)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2008, 07:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: Reset ECU

suprise suprise... last night I took the car out for a spin... no check engine light! wtf? fuel filler cap light turned off too. in any case, thanks BRUTAL for all of the great info. I saved it on my comp. so I don't have to look it up again. you da man~~~
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2009, 02:34 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRUTAL View Post
CORRECT WHT, AND TO DO A HARD REBOOT YOU HAVE TO DISCHARGE THE CAPACITORS IN THE ECU(ALL ECUS) AND TO CORRECTLY DISCHARGE A CAPACITOR WHICH IS NOTHING MORE THAN A BATTERY YOU HAVE TO GIVE IT A PATH TO GROUND. TO DO THAT DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL FROM THE BATTERY AND MOMENTARILY TOUCH IT TO THE STILL CONNECTED POSITIVE, THIS GIVES ALL THE CAPACITORS A PATH TO GROUND AND WITH ERASES ALL VOLATILE MEMORY.(CK ENGINE LIGHT CODES ARE STORED IN NONVOLATILE SO THEY NO LONGER ERASE THIS WAY)SOMEBODY(JIM?) STICKY THIS SO IT DOESNT HAVE TO BE RETYPED ALL THE TIME(2ND TIME TODAY) AND YES LIKE FACTOTECH SAID, RESET, WINDOWS, CLOCK, SUNROOF, RADIO(MAKE SURE YOU HAVE CODE FIRST IF YOU HAVE AN ANTITHEFT UNIT) AND YOUR DONE. TO RESET CODES AND NOT GO TO THE DEALER, GO TO NEIGHBORHOOD AUTOPARTS STORE, MOST HAVE GENERIC SCANNERS THAT CAN TAKE CARE OF ALOT OF CODES THAT COMEUP, JUST WRITE EM DONE SO IF THEY RETURN YOU KNOW THE CAR IS CONTINUING TO SEE THE SAME PROBLEM
Hi, did I read correctly (positive and negative?) and do this also work for a S-type?:

DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL FROM THE BATTERY AND MOMENTARILY TOUCH IT TO THE STILL CONNECTED POSITIVE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:47 PM
ka1thm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: N.E.
Posts: 47
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Resetting windows, sunroof, etc.

Hello Sir,
can you please give me a brief summary of how to reset these items?

Thank you very much.

<<<Mathew>>>

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brutal View Post
CORRECT WHT, AND TO DO A HARD REBOOT YOU HAVE TO DISCHARGE THE CAPACITORS IN THE ECU(ALL ECUS) AND TO CORRECTLY DISCHARGE A CAPACITOR WHICH IS NOTHING MORE THAN A BATTERY YOU HAVE TO GIVE IT A PATH TO GROUND. TO DO THAT DISCONNECT THE NEGATIVE BATTERY TERMINAL FROM THE BATTERY AND MOMENTARILY TOUCH IT TO THE STILL CONNECTED POSITIVE, THIS GIVES ALL THE CAPACITORS A PATH TO GROUND AND WITH ERASES ALL VOLATILE MEMORY.(CK ENGINE LIGHT CODES ARE STORED IN NONVOLATILE SO THEY NO LONGER ERASE THIS WAY)SOMEBODY(JIM?) STICKY THIS SO IT DOESNT HAVE TO BE RETYPED ALL THE TIME(2ND TIME TODAY) AND YES LIKE FACTOTECH SAID, RESET, WINDOWS, CLOCK, SUNROOF, RADIO(MAKE SURE YOU HAVE CODE FIRST IF YOU HAVE AN ANTITHEFT UNIT) AND YOUR DONE. TO RESET CODES AND NOT GO TO THE DEALER, GO TO NEIGHBORHOOD AUTOPARTS STORE, MOST HAVE GENERIC SCANNERS THAT CAN TAKE CARE OF ALOT OF CODES THAT COMEUP, JUST WRITE EM DONE SO IF THEY RETURN YOU KNOW THE CAR IS CONTINUING TO SEE THE SAME PROBLEM
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-23-2011, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Antigua, West Indies (Caribbean)
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default XK8 ECU Reset

I have a problem with a random 'Restricted Performance' warning. It usually happens when I go over a bump.

I want to reset the ECUs but BRUTAL's suggestion of touching the negative terminal to the positive sounds extremely foolish and, anyway, mine won't reach and there must be a good reason for this.

Does anyone know any sensible way to reset the ECUs?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-23-2011, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 171
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

@John Duffy-Why do you think Brutal's suggestion sounds "extremely foolish"?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-23-2011, 10:41 AM
rscultho's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,451
Thanked 224 Times in 163 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Duffy View Post
I have a problem with a random 'Restricted Performance' warning. It usually happens when I go over a bump.

I want to reset the ECUs but BRUTAL's suggestion of touching the negative terminal to the positive sounds extremely foolish and, anyway, mine won't reach and there must be a good reason for this.

Does anyone know any sensible way to reset the ECUs?
Mr Duffy: placing two electrical points at the same level of potential in a closed loop simply gives a completed neutral potential circuit. This will give the capacitors a completed circuit in which to discharge.
__________________

2009 Aston Martin DBS, 2011 XJL Indigo/London Tan
2010 XKR (Sold), 07 XKR (Sold), 05 VDP (Sold), 02 XKR 100 (Sold), 1998 VDP (Sold), 1996 XJS (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-24-2011, 05:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Antigua, West Indies (Caribbean)
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I am no electrician, but, if the positive terminal is still connected to the battery then how do you get a 'neutral' potential circuit. I could understand it if the positive terminal was not connected.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2011, 07:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Antigua, West Indies (Caribbean)
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

To the person who said 'We didn't leave the stone age because we ran out of rocks...' I would like to say the following:- I purchased my first Jaguar in 1972, a 420, followed by an XJ6, an XJ12, an XJ 4.2C, then five new XJS V12s, two XJS 4.0 (one convertible), and three XK8 convertibles and an XK150 3.8s DHC (genuine with matching numbers). From the first XJS until now, they were all new vehicles (except the 150). I retired to Antigua five years ago and a year ago decided to buy an old XK8 convertible and import it to Antigua. Import duties double the cost and there is no Jaguar agent in Antigua hence the older car.

My first XK8 had a battery failure and the garage connected the new battery the wrong way round and it blew all the instrument package. Fortunately, Jaguar paid GBŁ2,500. I probably know more about Jaguars than most people and I have never heard of anyone suggesting you connect the negative terminal, albeit temporarily, to the positive side whilst it is connected to the battery. I do wonder what Jaguar would say to this suggestion particularly in these days of sensitive electronics.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-24-2011, 12:10 PM
rscultho's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,451
Thanked 224 Times in 163 Posts
Default

My board name is rscultho...

Firstly, let's make sure we're on the same page. The original poster (BRUTAL) did not state to connect the positive and negative terminals of the battery together. This would be stupid.

Connecting both ends of a piece of wire to a positive terminal does not create a difference in potential. They are both touching the same terminal. There is no path for current to flow.

So if I take a battery, and take a piece of wire, and touch both ends of the wire to the positive terminal of the battery (NOTHING SHOULD BE TOUCHING THE NEGATIVE TERMINAL) absolutely nothing will happen.

As to the rest of your post, I am not sure what you are trying to say. Nobody impugned any of your knowledge or your ability. I've owned quite a few cars, some bought new off the lot as well - for whatever that's worth. Are you touting your wealth or age or something?

I also have a degree in computer engineering with a minor in electrical engineering. I have designed a microprocessor in my time complete with its own unique control store, and I have a patent on a 70 Million dollar software system in use by a major airline.

IS THAT ALL YOU GOT????!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Duffy View Post
To the person who said 'We didn't leave the stone age because we ran out of rocks...' I would like to say the following:- I purchased my first Jaguar in 1972, a 420, followed by an XJ6, an XJ12, an XJ 4.2C, then five new XJS V12s, two XJS 4.0 (one convertible), and three XK8 convertibles and an XK150 3.8s DHC (genuine with matching numbers). From the first XJS until now, they were all new vehicles (except the 150). I retired to Antigua five years ago and a year ago decided to buy an old XK8 convertible and import it to Antigua. Import duties double the cost and there is no Jaguar agent in Antigua hence the older car.

My first XK8 had a battery failure and the garage connected the new battery the wrong way round and it blew all the instrument package. Fortunately, Jaguar paid GBŁ2,500. I probably know more about Jaguars than most people and I have never heard of anyone suggesting you connect the negative terminal, albeit temporarily, to the positive side whilst it is connected to the battery. I do wonder what Jaguar would say to this suggestion particularly in these days of sensitive electronics.
__________________

2009 Aston Martin DBS, 2011 XJL Indigo/London Tan
2010 XKR (Sold), 07 XKR (Sold), 05 VDP (Sold), 02 XKR 100 (Sold), 1998 VDP (Sold), 1996 XJS (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-24-2011, 06:41 PM
rscultho's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,451
Thanked 224 Times in 163 Posts
Default

BTW, you've owned a lot of nice cars...and please note my smiley face in my previous post...

__________________

2009 Aston Martin DBS, 2011 XJL Indigo/London Tan
2010 XKR (Sold), 07 XKR (Sold), 05 VDP (Sold), 02 XKR 100 (Sold), 1998 VDP (Sold), 1996 XJS (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:13 PM
tledbetter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

For anyone that may find this useful... John Duffy your original question was in reference to the "restricted performance" issue arising after you hit a bump. I also had the exact same problem in my 98 VDP. It turns out that the "restricted performance" was coming on because I had a crack in my vacuum line that must have been opening up when I hit a bump or stopped real hard. They replaced the line and all was fixed. It is worth noting that once they opened the hood with the engine running the mechanic had me come over and I heard the feint sound of a vacuum leak. He traced the leak by holding his hand up and moving it across the engine until the sound muffled and he focused in on that location. I just thought I would pass that along and hope someone in the future finds it helpful when they are faced with the same problem.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
Stumpy (01-22-2012)
  #19  
Old 12-24-2013, 09:55 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 16
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Check engine light, low coolant and oil pressure

I did a hard reset last night and got my car to start. However I have a check engine light plus low coolant and low oil pressure lights. Will these eventually go away or do I get to go see the dealer? Thanks, Barry
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-24-2013, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maui
Posts: 449
Thanked 74 Times in 43 Posts
Default

There's a lot of code readers out there and was wondering which one is in expensive and great to use? I heard there is one you can use on your iphone now...some sort of app I guess that goes with it. Any ideas?
Thanks!
__________________
2007 Black XK Coupe w/ 20" Sentas
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 12:17 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
capacitors, car, check, clear, codes, control, ecu, engine, find, grounding, jaguar, jaquarcom, keys, light, reset, units, xkr



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.

Copyright © 2010 Internet Brands, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
JAGUAR and its logo are the registered trademarks of Jaguar Cars Limited. Jaguar Cars Limited is not affiliated with JaguarForums.com.