XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Matching dash wood veneer

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 07:04 AM
Received 149 Likes on 88 Posts
Default Matching dash wood veneer

I've recently used WhiteXKR's 3-guage conversion on my 2001 XKR - much prefer the look of the 3 guages to the out of date satnav. I managed to source a dash centre panel that's a reasonable but not perfect match for the original trim. I can live with it but would prefer a perfect match.
Is there any code/serial number for the various veneers to enable me to try and get a match or were they all individual to each car depending on what veneer was to hand?

Steve

Old 09-02-2014, 08:18 AM
Received 201 Likes on 92 Posts

I'm no expert when it comes to Jaguar dash veneer, but I am an expert when it comes to refinishing furniture, so I've dealt with my share of veneers. That being said, you most likely will not find a matching veneer for your dash...ever...without purchasing a new complete set. Veneers are, as youu know, thin sheets of wood that are "book-end" cuts, meaning two sheets will match when opened book style. The piece of wood used for your car was also used on the previous car and following car until the sheets were depleted from stock. Unless you, by some absolute god-blessing miracle, find the dash panels used in the two cars on either side of your production number, and, by another absolute god-blessing miracle the three dash assemblies met at the same time in production with the cars, you're out of luck for matching the veneers. You have three options 1) live with it, 2) buy new matching panels for your car and 3) live with it....

The following 2 users liked this post by marvin.d.miller:
JimC64 (09-02-2014), worrasf (09-02-2014)
Old 09-02-2014, 08:30 AM
Received 86 Likes on 55 Posts
Default wood veneer