XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Really really stuck

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2012, 07:45 PM
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts
Angry Really really stuck

My first time on this forum but I have to give everything a shot.

2001 Jaguar XK8 lhd

I am a professional Jaguar mechanic and I am stuck.

Heres the story. I did a head gasket on this car due to a valve seat that dropped from the head causing the valve not to return all the way.

First time (yes I said first time) I did this cylinder head (Right bank) I replaced timing chains, tensioners, rails, obvious gaskets, seals, etc..
I used an aftermarket head gasket set. When I reassembled the engine I started it and it seemed to run fine. The second time I started it, the check engine light came on. The codes I retrieved were

P0301- Cyl A1 mis
P0302... A2 mis
P0303...
P0304...
P0300- random misfire detected
P1316- Misfire rate excess emissions

These codes were retrieved using a fully updated Autologic unit. So I ran all the normal checks. My compression was about 35-50 psi lower on the right than the left. So I took it all back apart, used an OE head gasket, and put it all back together. Same codes. I have eliminated, compression, ignition, fuel injector spray pattern, crank sensor, air flow meter, VVT assemblies on both banks, cam sensors, timing chain related components, fuel pressure, vaccuum leaks, and an ECM.

Parts installed other than the obvious:

Crank Sensor
R&R ECM from another car in my shop and reprogrammed
ALL t/c components are the updated parts
All new ignition coils, and plugs

Info that might help:

The computer (does not matter which one of the 2) is reading STFT as Long term fuel trim and vise versa (i have never heard of this happening before)

Exhaust reading at idle for right bank "HC-9ppm CO-.07% CO2-14.8% O2- 0.1% NOX-52ppm)
Right bank at 2500 rpm (HC-6ppm CO-.01% CO2-15.5% O2-0.0% NOX-47ppm)

Left bank idle (HC-15ppm CO-.02% CO2-14.0% O2-3.2% NOX- 217ppm)