XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

P1646 confusion

Old 06-29-2011, 06:47 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default P1646 confusion

Hey all, I'm new to this so I hope I get it right. Just purchased an immaculate 2000 XKR with less than 40k miles. The other day the MIL light came on. Read with an OBD scanner and came up with a P1646; Linear O2 Sensor Chip Bank 1. I dug around on the Internet discovering this forum and found a link to Jaguar documents, one of which was entitled "On-Board Diagnostics, AJ-27 Engine Management" for the 2000-2002 SC engine. I found another that was exclusive to 2001 engines. Both of the Jaguar documents specifies P1646 as "Fuel Pump Relay 2 Malufunction". Hence, I am confused.

Does anyone know for certain which is truly correct? Does anyone know why the Jaguar documentation might be incorrect?

The following users liked this post:
cloudy0333 (08-23-2012)
Old 06-29-2011, 06:58 PM
Received 130 Likes on 103 Posts

Welcome!

I see you have found your way around the forum already. Sounds like you have a nice car...we love pictures!

Stick with the Jaguar-specific code definitions. They can vary a bit year to year so continue to be specific.

Invest in a JTIS manual from eBay and hang around here and you will become very knowledgeable fast.

Old 06-29-2011, 07:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts

Welcome to the forum!

At the top of this page is a FAQ Sticky that has a link near the top to a free download of JTIS. Imbedded in JTIS is the Jaguar specific OBDII codes for each year.

Old 06-29-2011, 09:15 PM
Received 37 Likes on 26 Posts

There are two types of DTC codes, 3 digit and 4 digit.

The three digit codes ( those that look like P0XXX ) are required by law to be defined the same for all manufacturers. This was part of the 1996 OBD II standard, in order to aid non-dealership mechanics in diagnosing problems. They ALWAYS mean the same thing no matter what car the code comes from.