Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please help xk100 hood problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2016, 03:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help xk100 hood problems

Hello All,

Please let me start this thread by thanking you all very much for all the help that you have provided over the years, I have never really got round to posting as I am not too good with computers, but I want to use this opener to start as I mean to go on and thank you all for your help.

So whats the issue?

I have a 2002 Jaguar XKR convertible and the hood is not functioning correctly at all.

I have done my best to read through all the previous threads and try to cure the issue myself, but am not getting anywhere.

The current state of play is as follows, the hood will intermittently retract but will never go up of its own accord.

I have noticed, the point at which it stops working is when there is a micro switch that clicks at the front of the car in the latch, if you push the button for the hood to come up, the pump starts and the latch starts to move, then it seems the latch closed switch going open circuit causes the SLCM to throw a wobbly and cuts all the power to the pumps and the solenoids. This seems to be the opposite of how it is supposed to act, as the jaguar bulletin states that the top latched microswitch going open circuit should cause it to start putting the hood up etc but it seems to be doing the opposite

What I have done so far:

I have checked all the 3 switches in the latch/catch and disconnected/sent power through them to check that they are earth returning correctly with a 12v test light, these all seem to work.

I have accessed the rear rams behind the seats and have tried to check those switches to no effect, I think they are pressure switches.