XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

some questions for the veteran owners..

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2016, 01:02 AM
Received 37 Likes on 34 Posts
Red face some questions for the veteran owners..

So I'm lurking for a XK8, never owned a Jaguar but always wanted one. Now 38 years old I guess I'm having a mid-life crisis or something because NOW I REALLY WANT ONE!

I'm looking for a 05'~06' XK8. Thinking coupe and I know that's rare but worried about the long term life of a the top hence why I'm thinking coupe (plus I think they kind of look better... maybe... I can't tell I haven't seen one in person the convertible's are beautiful too so I haven't decided yet...)

But anyway.. my questions (sorry!) been lurking and going through the searches and stickies for days..

I'm not a speed demon I'm a pretty mellow driver so I'm not looking for XJR's but I do run into their ads. I'm wondering about tire size. I've run into a few XJR's that have 20" OEM wheels! Doesn't that bring a harsh ride? I'm looking for a nice ride not teeth jarring harsh.. I would think a non-XKR would ride better as far as ride quality right? Do the XJR's ride worse but handle better? Do non-XJR's have a different set of shocks/suspension?

Shocks.. what mileage range do the shocks need replacement? I couldn't find much information on this. I work for an Infiniti dealer as a parts guy and OEM shocks can be pricey and I can't imagine what a jaguar shocks prices are.. least I can get Jaguar and aftermarket parts at wholesale but still wondering what mileage they typically konk out.

My 99' Miata soft top was wearing out and splitting and I was dreading replacing it.. Have any of you had issues with tears? Rips? Just thinking long term. They've all held up well? That has to be expensive.. I can do a little bit with a wrench but replacing a top sounds like a serious challenge.