XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are the XK8 and XKR as unreliable as the XJS?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2015, 09:46 AM
CXJ
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are the XK8 and XKR as unreliable as the XJS?

Simple question. Maybe some XK8 owners here also own or have owned a XJS and can report?

I would like to buy either a XJS or XK8/XKR but after horror stories about the XJS am more leaning towards the XK8 now. I'm not a mechanic and I am not in stage in my life where I have the time to be under my car every weekend or can afford to have the car looked at at a Jaguar dealership for every little thing.

Thanks for your input.

Old 09-25-2015, 10:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts

My 03 XK8 is very reliable however as with any 12 year old car it takes maintenance. Jaguars are more prone to quirky issues than most other makes. If you are not able to work on the car yourself than I'd suggest you stay away from an older Jag. Repairs can be expensive if you are paying someone. These cars are best owned by hobby mechanics.

The following users liked this post:
Rogerj (11-21-2016)
Old 09-25-2015, 10:22 AM
Veteran Member
Received 883 Likes on 472 Posts

I agree, steer clear unless you want to fix it yourself, I think I have spent at least 300 hours under my car.

Old 09-25-2015, 11:34 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,275 Likes on 2,812 Posts

^^^^ What they said....

Old 09-25-2015, 12:34 PM
CXJ

Wow. VERY disappointing. 300 hours in how many years?

Old 09-25-2015, 01:03 PM
Received 219 Likes on 112 Posts

I advise everyone who admires my 2004 and is amazed at the low price they are available for,that unless you can do your own maintenance it is probably not economical to own the car. That is probably the same with any older high end niche car. It also should not be your only car here in the north, I can't imagine trying to get this car through 6 inches of snow.

XK8man (10-09-2019)
Old 09-25-2015, 01:13 PM
CXJ