E type ( XK-E ) 1961 - 1975

E-type spin on oil filter conversion

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 09:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-type spin on oil filter conversion

Am considering E-type spin on oil filter conversion. Any good ideas, experiences or reviews on kits best suited for my v12 would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-10-2012, 12:48 PM
Received 7,878 Likes on 4,762 Posts

I installed one on a customer's 1972 2+2 Auto a few years ago. It sure is easier to replace the filter now!!!!!!

The customer supplied the kit and I don't remember the maker.

bob gauff

Old 03-10-2012, 05:23 PM

Thanks Bob,
Am looking at a CoolCat set. The online specs and pics look pretty good.
Although, truthfully I am relatively new to the Jaguar scene but I sure do love working on my Kitty.
I have recently redone the suspension ,brakes/SS brake lines, and rebuilt my SU carbs.
Which bring up another issue. What is recommended as a carb oil? Some say motor oil; others say not.
Andrés

Old 03-11-2012, 12:07 PM
Received 7,878 Likes on 4,762 Posts

The US spec. V12 should have the Stromberg CD175 carbs.
The factory oil is something like 20W but Most people just use Dexron ATF.

bob gauff

Old 03-11-2012, 01:13 PM
Default filter relocation

I put a jag v 12 in my boat in the 70s and relocated the oil filter to a remote location. then added a dual spin off . Thus, the marine change had to be to designed in the engine bay. What is the xk8 alternative today ?

Old 03-11-2012, 05:16 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts

I would only use a supplier that majors on Jaguar parts, so you can be confident you will not have any problems. Don't buy a "universal fitting"

The following users liked this post:
Andrés (03-14-2012)
Old 03-20-2012, 04:34 PM
Received 111 Likes on 84 Posts

Originally Posted by Andrés
Thanks Bob,
Am looking at a CoolCat set. The online specs and pics look pretty good.