F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noob here...need advice on F-Type R

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2018, 12:50 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Noob here...need advice on F-Type R

about a week ago I started my search and came across a 2016 F-Type R AWD and quickly found out it was sold But then discovered a 2015 F type or rear wheel drive for sale with red and black seats. In your opinion, which is better? I know you can come At this from so many angles depending on the type of driver you are and what you want. But I love raw power and great handling. My daily is an Infiniti Q50 Red Sport so about 400hp and RWD. Live in FL so no snow. As luck would have it the 2016 came back up for sale also certified preowned cars Thoughts or some guidance?

Old 12-29-2018, 01:06 PM
Banned
Received 54 Likes on 45 Posts

I have a slightly juiced V8 RWD that dyno'd 602 est at the crank. It will mildly break the rear end loose in a straight line in upper third gear, sometimes it'll wag a little under pure thrust. I love it, and wouldn't trade RWD for AWD for anything. You can't be an idiot on the throttle with lateral G on the car or the tail WILL, predictably, slide out. As it should be. The RWD V8 F-Types will be the ones to have 20 years from now.

A CPO warranty will get you to 7 years/100K miles which is well worth the typical premium.

Last edited by JIMLIGHTA; 12-29-2018 at 01:08 PM.
Old 12-29-2018, 01:16 PM
Banned

Also worth knowing is that a 2014 or 2015 V8S RWD will consistently dyno between 495 and 500 at the wheels, making them pretty similar to an R in hp. The engines are identical.

Old 12-29-2018, 01:37 PM
scm
Veteran Member
Received 1,382 Likes on 1,049 Posts

Originally Posted by Tpaxc
Thoughts or some guidance?