Jaguar Engines & transmissions Discuss performance / modifications / upgrades etc here..

"XJR 550" project

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 04:27 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes, I have had some experience, in the past, with engines using two twin-choke carbs, and also with 4-cylinder bike engines using 4 independent carbs, and that is why I thought of depression imbalance as a potential problem. My gut feeling - totally unproven - is that what is a small imbalance in an atmospheric engine will be magnified in a boosted engine, since the absolute pressure difference will be much greater, all else being equal.

I have some good books on engines and turbo applications, and had thought of checking if there was something there on ITBs on turbos. Of course, I forgot...I`ll try to remember to check tonight, and hopefully report back tonight.

DF

Old 04-20-2011, 04:39 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,231 Likes on 939 Posts

seems you are right, there are not many,if any ITB turbo engines, only one i have seen was the Nissan RB26 twin turbo for the 90s Skylines.

also the Nissans that were highly moddified used a large single TB with large plenum, and a gigantic turbocharger. also go like hell! over 1000RWhp.

the best of the Toy. supras run single TB with big turb. they have cracked over 1500hp.

so something to it all,, its also what i use on a couple 4 cyl turbo motors, and a Mazda rotary RX7.

Old 04-20-2011, 04:41 PM
Veteran Member

the large volume plenum is an important part of the equation, along with the runners!

Old 04-21-2011, 09:37 AM
Received 96 Likes on 68 Posts

ITBs are not used often with forced induction because they don't add horsepower (maybe a handful); only provide quicker throttle response. They're also a pain in the *** to set up properly.

The following users liked this post:
ronbros (09-21-2014)
Old 09-16-2014, 12:42 PM
Received 24 Likes on 6 Posts

Thanks for the interesting post, Count Iblis!