Jaguar Forums Feedback & Suggestion Center Need help with Jaguar Forums? Ask here! Have a suggestion to help improve Jaguar Forums? Tell us here....THIS SECTION IS NOT FOR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS

How To Edit Your Signature

 
  #1  
Old 09-16-2011, 04:34 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default How To Edit Your Signature

If you like to change , edit your signature or have difficulties doing that ,this is a proper thread for you .

So, all you have to do is to follow these steps

1- Click on UserCP at the utmost left top of the page
2- You will see your options and see the image1 and click on Edit Signature button
3- In this new window, you can either upload a signature from your own computer or use other sites
For ex : I do use [ IMG] http:// [ /IMG] (no space between these tags )

After inserting these codes, click on Save signature
That's it
 
Attached Thumbnails How To Edit Your Signature-signature-1.jpg   How To Edit Your Signature-signature-2.jpg  
The following 8 users liked this post by Cadillac:
angel in va (03-28-2013), EZDriver (02-06-2012), jaguar driver (03-01-2014), JD Jag06 (12-01-2014), JimC64 (03-05-2012), jrb53 (05-11-2014), Stuart S (09-16-2011), west470 (04-29-2014)
  #2  
Old 09-16-2011, 06:47 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,342
Received 2,269 Likes on 1,470 Posts
Default Puzzled...

Thanks, RegentV12. I already did that and uploaded a file from my PC (Option 2). Although that picture shows up in the "Your Current Profile Picture" box, somehow it doesn't show up under my signature in my post! I'm puzzled. I tried to insert the codes as you suggested, but wasn't able to do so. I guess I'll have to try using Option 1 and upload my photos to a website and then try again.

... So, I uploaded the picture I want to use under my signature from my PC to my Picasa Web Album. I opened my USER CP, clicked on Edit Profile Picture, opened the picture on my Picasa Web Album, copied the URL from that picture as a thumbnail and pasted it into Option 1. I added the tags before and after that URL and clicked on Save Changes. I got an error message: Invalid File. I did the same thing without the tags and got the same error message. All I could think of is maybe the file size was too big, so I shrunk it to 488 x 156 pixels (21111 bytes) (pretty small thumbnail) and tried again and got the same error message - Invalid File - both times, with and without the tags. Still puzzled and no ideas left. Your thoughts?
 

Last edited by Stuart S; 09-16-2011 at 07:56 PM. Reason: More info
  #3  
Old 09-17-2011, 02:23 AM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 12,706
Received 1,205 Likes on 709 Posts
Default

Hey Stuart,

If your link is good, check the format and size.

Regent's pic is 150 x 88 pixels and JPEG.

I always seem to have a problem with BMP.

If you send us the link to your pic in your Web album, We'll see what we can do with editing your sig from our Mod panels.

PM me or RegentV12.
 
The following users liked this post:
Stuart S (09-18-2011)
  #4  
Old 09-17-2011, 04:33 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

Hey Stuart,
I am not familiar with Picasa but I think there is a mess up with the link codes . So, I got a image for you to take a look at and see correct coding method . I believe you should right click on the image that you wanna upload (not the whole link ) and see properties. Now, all you have to do is to copy and paste the link of the image between IMG tags

If you are still having difficulties you can also e-mail us or shot us a pm on your signature link , let's try to rectify it
Below is about two more extra images that I tell you about

I have got 2 more images that can illustrate you for better understanding
 
Attached Thumbnails How To Edit Your Signature-image-editing.jpg   How To Edit Your Signature-image-signature.jpg   How To Edit Your Signature-image-signature2.jpg  

Last edited by Cadillac; 09-17-2011 at 04:41 AM.
The following users liked this post:
Stuart S (09-18-2011)
  #5  
Old 09-18-2011, 10:10 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,342
Received 2,269 Likes on 1,470 Posts
Default

Thanks, Translator and RegentV12.
I figured it out and now my photo appears under my signature. "Size matters!"
 
  #6  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:44 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

Hey, I am happy we did help you out , your signature is cool but I dare say a topless image would be hottter
 
  #7  
Old 09-19-2011, 03:23 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,342
Received 2,269 Likes on 1,470 Posts
Default

My avatar is topless, but as you requested I'll swap it with the top up image.
 
  #8  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:40 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,342
Received 2,269 Likes on 1,470 Posts
Default

So, now that I have this picture thing all figured out, I decided to change the images in my avatar and signature. Thumbs up/down
 
  #9  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:24 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

Thumbs up ,exactly better than I expected It was a good idea to add a cockpit picture of your ride as well . I am sure XK buddies will also like this
 

Last edited by Cadillac; 09-20-2011 at 04:48 AM. Reason: typo
The following users liked this post:
Stuart S (09-20-2011)
  #10  
Old 09-20-2011, 11:31 AM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 12,706
Received 1,205 Likes on 709 Posts
Default

Thumbs up, with all this talk of topless I was worried that we were going to get some sort of Grizzly Adams in shorts.
 
The following users liked this post:
Stuart S (09-20-2011)
  #11  
Old 03-03-2012, 06:40 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mich
Posts: 23
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks It worked!
 
  #12  
Old 06-14-2012, 03:40 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Baltimore Md.
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default control panel

hello ,can you do this using the mobile version
 
  #13  
Old 06-15-2012, 04:05 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

I haven't tried it using mobile but you should be able to do it as well
 
  #14  
Old 07-13-2012, 10:44 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I can't seem to get to the page that has the CP control panel so I can set my signiture up.
 
  #15  
Old 07-13-2012, 10:53 AM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PHX some of the time
Posts: 101,513
Received 4,734 Likes on 4,253 Posts
Default

Patrick, just look at the top of any page, a couple of inches down you will see a black bar going all the way across the page with various options, at the extreme left you will see "User CP" click on that and then follow the directions above.
 
  #16  
Old 08-18-2012, 12:55 PM
avt007's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 2,206
Received 523 Likes on 406 Posts
Default

I have put a link to the Canadian section in my signature, but can't figure out how to change the text on the link. Help!
 
  #17  
Old 08-18-2012, 01:09 PM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 108,852
Received 10,239 Likes on 8,419 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by avt007 View Post
I have put a link to the Canadian section in my signature, but can't figure out how to change the text on the link. Help!
Rob,

It's showing as:
__________________
Rob

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/ca...th-america-41/

98 XJ8 Topaz Metallic
01 BMW X5
76 911


What change do you want to make?

Graham
 
  #18  
Old 08-18-2012, 01:16 PM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: PHX some of the time
Posts: 101,513
Received 4,734 Likes on 4,253 Posts
Default

If you want to have something like this way to the Canada, Mexico & South America section.

Type what you want, copy the link you want to the clipboard, highlight the text you want to link then click the little globe with the paperclip and paste the url in the popup and you're done.
 
  #19  
Old 08-18-2012, 01:18 PM
avt007's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 2,206
Received 523 Likes on 406 Posts
Default

I'd like it to say "Canadian Forum" or something like that. Or "link to Canadian Forum"?

I do this all the time at work when inserting a hyperlink, but don't see how it's done here.

Thanks
 
  #20  
Old 08-18-2012, 01:21 PM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 108,852
Received 10,239 Likes on 8,419 Posts
Default

This is going to end up with three of us amending it at the same time!

I'll step back and reduce it to two.

Graham
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How To Edit Your Signature


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: