MKI / MKII S type 240 340 & Daimler 1955 - 1967

Can electrical short cause ignition problems?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 08:57 AM
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Can electrical short cause ignition problems?

I've been driving and maintaining "Furgie", Daimler V250, for over 25 years. But am temporarily stumped with this one:
Installed a rebuilt distributor with new points, etc. and she performed beautifully. 100 miles into a road trip (with the wife aboard, of course) there was a sudden engine miss, then smoke from under the hood. That turned out to be a short in the wiring harness crossing from the left headlight section to the right. I temporarily insulated the burned wires and went on my way. 30 minutes later she started missing, then would clear and run fine, then miss. Next morning would not start, no spark. Then started and ran fine, then missed, stalled etc. This pattern continues to today, but is getting increasing worse. To be brief, here is what I did over a period of 5 days:
Replaced dizzy cap, rotor, contact points, condensor. Bypassed the doubtful looking insulated distributor terminal (wired the coil directly to condensor.) Temporarily hot wired (bypassed the ignition switch.) Temporarily bypassed the + coil wire running through the harness by running a direct wire to the distributor. Rechecked timing, carburetion, battery ground
I have checked and rechecked every aspect of the ignition loop that I can think of but she still poops with poor spark.
I just got her towed back home yesterday so I can troubleshoot at leisure now.
Here is what I have not done yet:
New HT wires (not in stock at sng Barrett)
Checked the engine ground. ( assume this is at the starter)
- I cannot imagine that short creating the problem, but I keep going back to it. Is there a chance that an intermittent short inside the harness can cause the ignition issues?
I'd appreciate any thoughts, I start on her tomorrow.

Old 02-14-2015, 09:14 AM
Veteran Member