Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s-type-s-type-r-supercharged-v8-x200-15/)
-   -   Stereo and Amp Question (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s-type-s-type-r-supercharged-v8-x200-15/stereo-amp-question-135006/)

Cartierusm 01-17-2015 02:50 PM

Stereo and Amp Question

Ok I'm a noob on the forum and I have searched, but still have a couple questions.

Just pickup a used 2001 Jaguar S Type with V8, Premium Sound and Nav.

I want to replace the stereo.

I've noted a wiring harness adapter is hard to find but a 86-04 Ford Harness should work.

Other than that it seems pretty easy as in this year the climate controls won't get messed up?

I guess my only question is, is the current premium stereo installed have built in amps or are they outboard?

Thanks.

JagV8 01-18-2015 10:00 AM

Never mind that till you've checked and probably changed the timing chain tensioners!

Cartierusm 01-18-2015 12:50 PM

@JagV8, is that something that goes bad quite often?

I'm not going to change the stereo unless I can find adapter cables as I would want to put the stock stereo back some day. I found two of the cables from a Ford kit, but not the others.

JagV8 01-18-2015 02:14 PM

The originals will fail and write off the engine. You're on borrowed time

Cartierusm 01-18-2015 06:53 PM

Ok thanks. I'll check them out.

Cartierusm 01-19-2015 02:53 AM

Ok found the electrical schematics and see that the head unit is separate on my premium system from the center fill amplifier and the sub-woofer amplifier.

So my two questions are:

1. where are these amps located?