S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Well, got my 2005 S-Type 4.2 today...and it looks like I have a blown head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2011, 06:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Well, got my 2005 S-Type 4.2 today...and it looks like I have a blown head gasket

I got the car today, and it's absolutely beautiful

Unfortunately after driving it around for about 15 minutes it was appearant that there's a problem here. I'm getting quite a bit of white smoke out of the tailpipe (interestingly only on the driver side) and to me it smelled like burning oil. I'm no mechanic, but I am a google ninja so after a few minutes of searching it sounds like I have a coolant leak into the engine and either a bad head gasket or a cracked head. I'll take the former, thank you. :|

So, what is the next step? Is there any way to determine whether it's the gasket or the head without taking the heads off? Does anyone know what I can expect this to cost me in either case? Is this a DYI job for someone who's not a mechanic, but can follow directions pretty well?

Thanks!
Jason

Old 03-09-2011, 06:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 86 Likes on 61 Posts

HEy I'm really sorry to hear what happened, don't be down as of yet, try this before spending thousands for a head gasket fix. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3suQy44G_B0

This stuff is amazing it worked on my friends Chevy Impala that had a blown head gasket. Still to this day its holding up.

Good Luck,

Old 03-09-2011, 06:40 PM
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

Thats sad to hear, the previous owner probably overheated it. Take it to the dealer and have them do a $100 diagnosis on it and see what they can find. It may not be the head. If it is, no point in getting rid of the car as it will be worth nothing like that. See if you can find another engine with less miles on it.