XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Parasitic battery drain

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2017, 11:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Parasitic battery drain

My next door neighbor (older widow woman) has a 2003 XJ8 308 that is having the battery drain. I've read as much as I can find on this forum and am preparing to sleuth the drain source culprit. My Klein DMM with amp clamp is hard to get around each individual wire to each fuse (besides so many fuses 8-o ) so I'm going to do the voltage drop measurement method across each fuse. The only problem I'm having is locating an accurate fuse box layout diagram. Her owner manuals are no where to be found and the fusebox covers don't have the diagrams any longer.

She had a local (non-jag-qualified) shade-tree mechanic do something to the windshield wiper arm so I'm going to focus on the w/w park switch (apparently commom problem) first.

PS: I was a Naval Aviation Electronics Technician who became an Aviation Maintenance Officer after a 30yr career so I believe my electronic and mechanical appitudes are OK.

You folks however are the real PROs so I look to you for mentorship.

Old 05-27-2017, 11:24 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,769 Likes on 1,303 Posts

Welcome spurlockda, we hope members here can be helpful to you and you to us in the future. Please take the time to introduce yourself in the New Members Section under Forums top left, General Jaguar Forums, New Members.

With your knowledge, you'll benefit from this... JagRepair.com - Jaguar Repair Information Resource ...just do a Site Search electrical diagrams. Do a site search here for X308Workshop, its a large file with details on the whole car. Also you may wish to download and look at...

Attached Files

Last edited by Highhorse; 05-27-2017 at 11:28 AM.
The following users liked this post:
spurlockda (05-27-2017)
Old 05-27-2017, 11:37 AM
Veteran Member
Received 970 Likes on 769 Posts