XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need words of encouragement and / or CAUTION !!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2018, 11:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,567 Likes on 939 Posts
Default Need words of encouragement and / or CAUTION !!!

Am getting ready to remove throttle body, Mass Air sensor, and air clearer to clean all. I have zero experience with the types of electrical and hose fasteners used on my '02 XKR.

Any advice or removal tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm generally ham-handed and have a reasonable fear of breaking an irreplaceable electrical or hose fitting.

thanks.

Z

Old 08-14-2018, 12:01 PM
Veteran Member
Received 915 Likes on 560 Posts

Originally Posted by zray
Am getting ready to remove throttle body, Mass Air sensor, and air clearer to clean all. I have zero experience with the types of electrical and hose fasteners used on my '02 XKR.

Any advice or removal tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm generally ham-handed and have a reasonable fear of breaking an irreplaceable electrical or hose fitting.

thanks.

Z
The fittings Jaguar used are fairly intuitive and not like the satan's a$$hole produced stuff Volkswagen uses with weird retainers involved and push out versus in, etc. The throttle body and maf connectors are the push the little rocker thing and pull back. Like this where you push on the bit in the middle and pull the plug back.

The clamps are of the spring and screw kind and very straightforward. This is assuming you are NOT pulling the elbow beneath the TB with the EGR bolted on to it. That has hard lines from the crank vent system that are a bit harder and different.

The following 5 users liked this post by 80sRule:
cjd777 (08-14-2018), GGG (08-14-2018), michaelh (08-14-2018), Orthodixie (08-15-2018), zray (08-14-2018)
Old 08-14-2018, 12:30 PM
Received 161 Likes on 133 Posts