Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/)
-   X-Type ( X400 ) (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x-type-x400-14/)
-   -   Ball joint help needed on lower control arms (https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x-type-x400-14/ball-joint-help-needed-lower-control-arms-115164/)

04xtype04 04-05-2014 12:49 AM

Ball joint help needed on lower control arms

Ok so I finally got my pair of new lower front control arms. I would really like to get them installed soon so I can get rid of the rattling noises and get my car aligned. I went to the car parts store and rented a ball joint tool, but I have never worked with a ball joint before and not sure how the x-type's work. The tool I got is a press that looks like a big c-clamp, with different size cylinder fittings. He asked me if it is a pressed ball joint and I said I think so but I'm not sure. I thought I could do it with a pickle fork but the ball joint tool seemed better suited for ball joints. Anyways, I am just wondering what I need to do to separate the old ball joint and install the new arm with the new ball joint. Also wondering how much torque for the new control arms.

Justink201 04-05-2014 06:07 AM

You need the fork. Its simple actually. Once you get the bolt out of the hub, it has a 50 or 55 torque bit and a 15mm or 17mm nut. I can't remember the exact sizes, you then just push/hammer the fork between the hub and the ball joint and pop it out. The hard part is getting the arm low enough to get the ball joint all the way out.

ltmax 04-05-2014 08:06 AM

The best way I found to take the lower control arm off is to loosen the tie rod end nut, put a jack under the tie rod end and lift up to put some pressure on it, smack the side of the joint with a hammer and that pops the tie rod end out.

After that, remove the 4 bolts holding the subframe on that side of the car, and take out the lower ball joint nut.